Teen Reviews

Top Rated Book Reviews

Keeper of the Lost Cities

by Shannon Messenger (J MESSENGER, S.)
cover: Keeper of the Lost Cities
  • Five stars
    Read this book right now & tell all your friends!
    This was an incredible book! I absolutely LOVED this book and it is still to this day my favorite of all time. I own it and the rest of the series because I fell in love with the characters and plot so much! There is plenty of boy drama mixed with heartfelt moments and intense action that keeps you on the edge of your seat! This is a must read! Also suggested: Shadow and Bone
    Giselli R. Grade 9
    07/30/2021
  • Five stars
    Read this book right now & tell all your friends!
    This book series is my favorite books series. It's so good. Also suggested: City of Ember, The Secret Zoo, The Prince Warriors
    Elisabeth G Grade 10
    07/17/2021
  • Five stars
    Read this book right now & tell all your friends!
    This book takes you through the journey of Sophie Foster, your average elf. She learns she's an elf with a rare and powerful talent to read minds. Join Sophie as she begins for new life. Also suggested: Let the sky fall
    Claire.S Grade 7
    06/05/2020
  • Five stars
    Read this book right now & tell all your friends!
    I loved this book so much. It was so detailed and descriptive. The book had such a great story and is truly one of my favorites. I definitely recommend to anyone who likes fiction adventure books. Also suggested: Keeper of The Lost Cities: Exile
    Sarah Woods Grade 10
    07/28/2019
  • Five stars
    Read this book right now & tell all your friends!
    This book is a continuous fight between good and evil throughout the whole series. I couldn't help but read all day. Also suggested: The Land of Stories
    Abby C Grade 6
    07/23/2018
  • Five stars
    Read this book right now & tell all your friends!
    I think that this is a wonderfully written series. I love how the author incorporates legends and myths into her story. The characters in this story have complex personalities and feelings that fit well with the interesting plot.This series keeps me coming back to read it over and over again.
    Caution B Grade 9
    07/03/2018
  • Five stars
    Read this book right now & tell all your friends!
    The book was really good. I loved all the plot twists and the characters were so thoroughly developed that it was hard to stop reading. I would highly encourage anyone to read this book, especially if you love fantasy!
    Pooja B Grade 10
    06/10/2018
  • Five stars
    Read this book right now & tell all your friends!
    This is an amazing book everyone must read. Shannon Messenger does a wonderful job of capturing all the character's emotions. This book is about young Sophie Foster who's world is turned upside down. A new world is revealed to her, and with it, a new life. This book is definitely worth reading, and will keep you wanting more.
    Ali M. Grade 8
    06/02/2018
  • Four stars
    Put this on your must read list!
    According to Common Sense Media, Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger is an ...imaginative, well-conceived and well-written, with believable, complex characters... Does this hold up? Yep. All though I know that I don't speak for everyone as we all have different tastes, I can say that this book is definitely a worthwhile read. The book doesn't fit one genre, but if I had to label it, I would call it Fantasy. All though I usually enjoy Fantasy genre books, this blew it out of the park. It also has a small romance sub plot just like every Juvenile book ever to touch the earth, and a small mystery sub plot. The main focus is just setting up backstory and the Black Swan, as well as other very important things, used in later books. Also suggested: The Emoji Movie
    Xander S 11
    08/03/2017
  • Four stars
    Put this on your must read list!
    Sophie Foster is an ordinary 12 year old. Unless you think about the factor that she is a senior in high school. But there is more than that. She has photographic memory, and also the more rare one she can read people's mind. One day, a mysterious boy takes her to a different world. She then finds out that she is no longer human, but an elf. She must now escape the human world and has to erase her parents memory of her. Read this amazing book to find out what adventures await her. Also suggested: Harry Potter and the other Keeper of the Lost Cities books
    Helen I. 11
    05/30/2017
  • Four stars
    Put this on your must read list!
    Good book, adventure, advanced technology, and funny. Also suggested: Keeper of the lost cities 2-4
    Joshua G. 13
    06/23/2016
  • Four stars
    Put this on your must read list!
    I thought the book was pretty good. If you like adventure books, this would be a good one to read. The characters and plot are developed very well! Just by reading the words on the page, I can imagine what the reactions of the characters would be if I were to talk to them in real life. Sophie Foster, the main character, deals with searching for her history, fighting unknown elves, and finding a sense of belonging with her new family and friends. Shannon Messenger illustrates an adventure like no other while creating a story that can relate to everyday teens. Also suggested: Keeper of the Lost Cities: Exile
    Kezzia M. 14
    06/02/2016